Who We Are
What We Do
Member States
Governing Document
COALEX Information
COALEX Topical List
Conference Info
Site Map
Mine Safety and Health Training Award Winners

The following were winners of the Compactís annual mine safety and health training awards, which were presented for the first time in 2016 during the awards banquet held in conjunction with the Annual Meeting. Future awards will also be presented at each year's Annual Meeting. The awards may be presented each year in two main categories, a state award and an industry award, each including four subcategories: coal surface, coal underground, noncoal surface, and noncoal underground. The winners receive an engraved plaque of recognition. The awards were established to recognize excellence in mine safety and health programs and materials based on several criteria set forth in the nomination materials (see link to memo with criteria on Awards main page).

2016 Winners

Awarded in Lake Placid, New York at the 2016 Interstate Mining Compact Commission Annual Meeting

Industry Category Winner:
Extra Energy, Inc. (Virginia)

State Category Winners:
  • Coal Surface Mining:Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy -- Division of Mines
  • Coal Underground Mining:Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy -- Division of Mines
  • Metal/Nonmetal Surface Mining:Colorado Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety

index | previous page | next page
© Interstate Mining Compact Commission
445-A Carlisle Drive | Herndon, VA 20170 | Tel.703.709.8654 | Fax.703.709.8655